Welcome to
AboutSpam.com
2008-05-11 / 21:04:43 Pacific

Server IP #: 74.86.88.160

from 38.103.63.16


Home Page
Email Consulting
Info & Contact
Direct Marketing Asso.
Spammers, Pay Up!
Spam Houses  <<
Ethical Examples
SPAM IN THE NEWS

From Google
On Abuse.net
From Yahoo

SPOTLIGHT

AT&T Spam
AT&T Wireless Spam
INVESTIGATIVE

Tools
MISCELLANEOUS

Mail
View Email Source
WA Anti-Spammer Sites
Companies That Do Or Have Provided Spamming Services
Updated June 11, 2002
Some companies are in the business to deliver unsolicited commercial email. This type of businesses is known in the anti-spam community as a SpamHaus. Here's my list from UCE that I've received from each spamhaus. The common element of the spam from each of these spamhauses is the deceptive lie that I opted into the spam. If you want to see a longer list, go to Spamhaus.org
Azoogle
www.azoogle.com

According to the web site:
105 Centre Street, Suite 214
Thornhill, ON
Canada

According whois on 8/18/02:
Azoogle Inc.
401 East 34th St #North 24A
New York, NY 10016

The lies from this spamhaus that I opted in began July 26, 2002: "Discover® Platinum Clear Card. Click here to see information about the APR, fees and other Important Information. You are receiving this email because you have opted-in to receive email from publisher: hotfreeoffers."


BuyerCooperative
www.buyercooperative.com

According to the email received 12/19/02:
3518 Fremont Ave N #255
Seattle, WA 98103

This spammer lied that I was a member and that I opted in: "You have received this email as a member of the BuyerCooperative special deals and mailings network, or because you elected to receive our special mailings through one our marketing affiliates."


DigitalImpact
www.digitalimpact.com

177 Bovet Road
San Mateo, CA 94402
v650-356-3400
f650-356-3410

I started getting a newsletter about HP (Hewlett-Packard) products -- with commercial promotions -- from DigitalImpact. I never requested nor signed up for such a newsletter. A deceptive statement was always at the end of the email, such as: "Hewlett-Packard respects your privacy. It is our understanding that you have given your permission to receive informational e-mails like this one."


dlbDirect
www.dlbDirect.com

PO BOX 5806
Redwood City, CA 94063
650.364.3131 Phone
650.364.3184 Fax

All of a sudden I started getting spam from a place called dlbDirect. A statement at the bottom of the messages says "You can stop receiving email from dlbDirect by: Entering your email address below and clicking REMOVE." On March 26, 2002, their web site said at http://www.dlbdirect.com/index.php "dlbDirect provides a broad suite of services including high-volume email delivery to our affiliate and proprietary database of millions of permission based, online consumers. As well as comprehensive reporting, opt-in lists, front-end design and custom development of applications. Our services provide email list owners and publishers an alternative solution to communicate with their member base without the need for expensive IT personnel, hardware and bandwidth charges." More lies. I never gave permission nor did I opt in.


EContacts
www.econtacts.com

Following from http://www.econtacts.com/about.htm on 12/4/02:
20 Pickering St., 2nd Floor
Needham, MA 02492
Phone: 781-449-1440
Toll-Free: 888-718-1845
Fax: 781-455-6526

Econtacts spammed me wanting to know if I wanted to use their services to send out emails.


emailhello
www.emailhello.com
www.impulsemg.com

Emailhello, Inc.
6135 Barfield Rd. Suite 240
Atlanta, GA 30328

Impulsive
2533 N. Carson St., Suite 2982
Reno, NV 89706

Not much a hello to start getting spammed from emailhello and Impluse Marketing Group. The FROM addresses all had emailhello.com in them along with the following names: Nikki McAlister, Kelly Andrews, Susan Anderson, Lucy Jones, Erica Krew, Sandra Lewis, Nina Griffith, Sara Nolan, Megan Sullivan, Lily Smith. Funny thing. Everytime I called emailhello and asked for any of those names, nobody knew who I was talking about. Finally, one guy said in response to a particular name, "Oh, that's just a name." Another deceptive spam practice.

All of the spams had implusive.com in the header, which shows above to be in Reno, NV. However, during one of the calls to emailhello.com, I was told that Impulse Marketing Group (www.implusemg.com) was involved with emailhello.com. When I called Impulse Marketing Group I was told emailhello.com is a "sister company."


IdealEmails.com
www.idealemails.com


Intervolved, Inc.
www.intervolved.net

210 Rte. 4 E. Suite 303
Paramus, NJ 07652
201-843-8000


JDRMedia
www.JDRMedia.com
www.JDRdirect.com

On September 21, 2002, I received this from JDR Media.

Welcome!

JDR Media is proud to announce that we have joined forces with MileSpree (of which you've been a member) to bring you special targeted offers via email. As a member of MileSpree (of which you've been a member), you opted to receive special offers from them and certain, very select partners. Now as a member of JDR Media, you can expect to receive exciting emails featuring exclusive promotions, trial offers, great discounts and a variety of other benefits.

[more promo junk deleted from here]

JDR Media never sends unsolicited email. JDR Media has been given the right to market to you through our Web site partners and their privacy policies. Specifically, you are receiving this correspondence because you have provided permission (via your registration and acceptance of the privacy policies for a newsletter, contest, web-based service or other activity on the web) to receive recurring promotions or offers from various third parties. If you feel that you are receiving this email in error or would like to opt-out of receiving future offers please click here: [url], or email us at unsubscribe@jdrmedia.com, or call us at 1-866-537-6334. We may also be contacted at JDR Media, Inc., P.O. Box 25599, San Mateo, CA, 94402..

I used to get spammed by Milespree. I never signed up for Milespree. So Milespree sells my email address to JDR Media, which then perpetuates the lie that I opted-in.
Intervolved, Inc.
www.intervolved.net

210 Rte. 4 E. Suite 303
Paramus, NJ 07652
201-843-8000


Networkwork Commerce, Incorporated
www.ncimarketing.com
www.networkcommerce.com
www.ombramarketing.com

411 First Avenue South #200N
Seattle, WA 98104

Spam received by Bruce Miller was neither solicited nor invited, even though nearly all messages contain a deceptive statement similar to this: "You are receiving this special offer because you have provided permission to receive third party email communications regarding special online promotions or offers."

Network Commerce apparently started as shopnow.com, but that didn't work. I guess they think spamming will bail them out.


OffersRUS
www.offersrus.net.com
http://offersrus.net/ad_mail_mega/reach_the_masses.htm

Whois on 9/5/02:
Livs Inc. Corp
8593 Mentor Ave
Mentor, Ohio 44060

More lies at the bottom of their spam: "This E-mailing has been sent to you as a person interested in the information enclosed. This E-mail is not SPAM under the Federal Regulatory laws of the United States. This message is being sent to you in compliance with the proposed Federal Legislation for commercial e-mail (H.R.4176-SECTION 101 PARAGRAPH (e) (1) (A)) and Bill s.1618 TITLE III passed by the 105th US Congress. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. This message is not intended for residents of WA, NV, CA, & VA. Screening of addresses has been done to the best of our technical ability."


PostmasterGeneral, also known as MindShare Design
www.mindsharedesign.com
www.postmastergeneral.com
www.pm0.net

44 Montgomery St, Suite 1600
San Francisco, CA 94104
v415-983-0990
f415-445-9999


Virtumundo, Inc.
as of February 8, 2002
vmadmin.com
virtumundo.com
treeloot.com
CarHunt.com
SpeedyReward.com

Virtumundo's main web page on February 8, 2002 claimed the following: "Virtumundo, Inc. is a direct marketing company that specializes in providing demographically targeted solutions for advertisers, both online and in traditional media. We believe that by providing narrowly-targeted advertising to our viewers, our advertisers will be able to cut through the clutter and deliver campaigns with impact." [Emphasis added.]

Many folks have been getting spammed by them. Spam received by Bruce Miller was neither solicited nor invited, even though nearly all messages contain a deceptive statement similar to these: "When you submitted information to IMustLotto.com, including your email address, you gave permission to have promotional offers delivered to you from third parties. If you take no action, you will begin receiving promotional offers from Virtumundo." The recipient of this spam email never signed up at IMustLotto.com.

"You received this email because you signed up at one of Virtumundo's websites (see the "Properties" listed at http://www.virtumundo.com) or you signed up with a party that has contracted with Virtumundo. To unsubscribe from the Virtumundo Rewards List, visit http://www.virtumundo.com/unsub or click here. To read Virtumundo's privacy policy, visit Privacy Policy. The products and/or services advertised in this email are the sole responsibility of the advertiser, and questions about this offer should be directed to the advertiser. 2002 Virtumundo, Inc. All rights reserved."